NPS Rolls Out Prosecutor’s Course on Environmental Crimes

12 April 2021

Nineteen (19) prosecutors successfully completed the 1st Online Fundamental Course on the Investigation and Prosecution of Environmental Cases delivered by the National Prosecution Service’s very own Pool of Prosecutors-Trainers. The training course, organized and supervised by the NPS Special Projects Division (SPD), was held from February 22 to 24, 2021.

The Course, developed through the support of the International Development Law Organization (IDLO), consists of interactive modules which dealt from the most basic - the constitutional framework of Philippine environmental laws – to more in-depth discussions and practical exercises on six (6) major environmental laws, namely: Fisheries, Clean Air, Ecological Solid Waste Management, Mining, Forestry (and the Chainsaw Law) and Wildlife Resources Conservation and Protection.

The SPD, chaired by no less than Prosecutor General Benedicto A. Malcontento himself, also took the opportunity to use this Course as the test-run of or jump-off for the e-Learning portal and Learning Management System for the NPS.

The Training Team was composed of the following: DRP Prima Jesusa Quinsayas-Mangelen as Course Manager, ARP Maribelle Uminga, DCP Mitchel Go, ACP Sheila Angela Sarmiento, ACP Anne Catherine Manigbas-Bautista, ACP Carol R. Salvatierra, APP Emmylou Bendanillo, PP Maya Bien Tolentino, CP Alfonso Cinco IV, DPP Mary Ann Tugbang-Torres, PP Linalou Racaza-Veloso, and ACP Peter Paul Tombo.

The maiden batch, dubbed as “Magkaugnay Class”, was composed of:
1.    APP Edna Daskeo, OPP La Union
2.    APP Maidy San Buenaventura-Fernandez, OPP Palawan
3.    APP Maria Kristina Torrecampo, OPP Batangas
4.    APP Glenn Parra, OPP Cavite
5.    ACP Candice Antonette Agapay, OCP Lucena
6.    APP Roselle Napoles, OPP Camarines Norte
7.    APP Ronel Sustituya, OPP Iloilo
8.    DPP Marites Flores-Macarrubo, OPP Negros Oriental
9.    ACP Venice Balansag, OCP Cebu
10.    ACP Ryan Sojor, OCP Carcar
11.    ACP Cherrie Mae Cabrera-Cabilte, OCP Mandaue
12.    APP Margie Tan-Alvaro, OPP Bohol
13.    ACP Ilyn Dominuez-Usman, OCP Zamboanga
14.    APP Jonathan Alcobilla, OPP Bukidnon
15.    DPP Shiela Dajalos-Atienza, OPP Davao del Norte
16.    APP Janice Busque-Atienza, OPP Davao de Oro
17.    ACP Guineverre Etulle-Tenaja, OCP Tagum
18.    DPP Andres Mission Jr., OPP Sarangani
19.    ACP Joni-Ross Victoriano-Lutella, OCP Caloocan


More News Articles

We are ISO Certified