Retired prosecutors receive pension differential

16 May 2014

Prosecutors who retired since 1992 to 2008 can now claim their pension differential.

In a Memorandum dated 12 May 2014, Assistant Secretary for Financial Service Zabedin M. Azis informed Secretary Leila M. De Lima of the release by the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) of Two Hundred Forty-One Million Two Hundred Nine Thousand Two Hundred Four Pesos (P241,209,204.00) to cover payment of pension differential of the one hundred nine (109) retired prosecutors who compulsorily and optionally retired from government service pursuant to RA 10071.

 “We welcome this as a great development for the Department particularly the National Prosecution Service. Our prosecutors had relentlessly dedicated their services for the cause of justice,” the Secretary said.

Records show that  DBM Undersecretary Luz M. Cantor transmitted to this Department the Special Allotment Release Order (SARO)  No. BMB-D—14-0005253 and the corresponding Notice of Cash Allocation (NCA-BMB-D-14-005730) on 07 May 2014 and 08 May 2014, respectively, in the amount of Two Hundred Forty-One Million Two Hundred Nine Thousand Two Hundred Four Pesos Only (P241,209,204.00) covering the payment of the pension differential of the 109 retired prosecutors.

Each prosecutor-retiree shall receive an average of Two Million Five Hundred Thousand Pesos ((P2,500,000.00).

Release of the pension differential was made possible through the concerted efforts of Undersecretary Leah Tanodra-Armamento, Chairperson, Committee on Retirement under RA 10071, Prosecutor General Claro A. Arellano (National Prosecution Service), Assistant Secretary Zabedin M. Azis (Financial Service) and the Personnel Division.

RA 10071 or the “Prosecution Service Act of 2010” provides for the scheme in computing retirement benefits of prosecutors.



More News Articles

We are ISO Certified